Skip to Page Content

College Relations

    The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) Georgia’s College Relations supports the various student chapters throughout the state. This link provides information on the following:

    • Establishing and maintaining student chapters
    • Information on internship and job opportunities
    • Information on undergraduate and graduate programs
    • Platform to for student chapters and advisors to share knowledge and best practices.

    Establishing and Maintaining Student Chapters

    Student Membership

    Often there are questions about the differences between student and professional membership. Registering for student membership enables you, while you are working toward your degree at a reduced rate, opportunities to: access information about current trends and topics in human resources, networking opportunities, and acquire experience by serving in a leadership role. For more information about student membership please visit http://www.shrm.org/students/memberinfo.asp.

    Student Chapters

    Currently, Georgia has ten active student chapters and below is a listing along with the chapter advisor’s contact information.

    DEVRY UNIVERSITY - KELLER GRADUATE SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT #5530

    Chapter Advisors
    Van Travis, MHRM
    770-521-4900 ext. 3172
    vtravis@devry.edu

    Mitzi Williams, MBA, MHRM
    404-463-3097   
    MWilliams@grta.org

    Eugene Schmuckler
    770-998-5489
    Genes39@bellsouth.net

    GEORGIA SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY #5187

    Chapter Advisors
    Dr. Robert C. Hoell SPHR
    (912)681-5577
    rhoell@georgiasouthern.edu

    Demetrius Bynes PHR
    (912) 681-5713
    dbynes@georgiasouthern.edu

    GEORGIA STATE UNIVERSTIY #5046

    Chapter Advisors
    Dr. Kay Bunch
    (404) 413-7529
    kbunch@gsu.edu

    Dr. Lucy McClurg
    (404) 651-2863
    mgtlnm@langate.gsu.edu

    KENNESAW STATE UNIVERSITY #5338

    Chapter Advisor
    Ellen Cross
    (770) 499-3687
    ecross@kennesaw.edu

    OGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY #5290

    Chapter Advisor
    Lynn Guhde, Ph.D., PHR
    (404) 504-1179
    LGuhde@oglethorpe.edu

    ST. LEO UNIVERSITY - FT. MCPHERSON #5522

    Chapter Advisor
    Lawsey S. Thomas
    (770) 315-4463
    lawseyt@attbi.com

    STATE UNIVERSITY OF WEST GEORGIA #5029

    Chapter Advisor
    Dr. Thomas W. Gainey
    (770)836-6472
    tgainey@westga.edu

    TROY STATE UNIVERSITY - ATLANTA #5550

    Chapter Advisor
    Dr. Diane Bandow
    (770) 730-0033
    bandow2@troy.edu

    TROY UNIVERSITY - GEORGIA REGION #5008

    Chapter Advisor
    Fort Benning
    Stacey Sanger Scroggins
    (706) 685-5703
    ssanger@troyst.edu

    Bill Glisson
    (706) 685-5776
    wglisson@troy.edu

    Valdosta State University - Valdosta #5469

    Chapter Advisor
    Dr. Larry Wiley
    (229) 333-5962
    lwiley@valdosta.edu

    Information on Internship and Job Opportunities

    Internships

    In todays, global, rapidly changing economy, a great way to get a head start on your career in human resources is to pursue an experiential educational opportunity in the form of an internship, co-op or volunteer experience. To assist you in finding these opportunities SHRM has a link that you can check out to find the latest internship opportunities http://www.shrm.org/students/intern_published/Intern_Available.asp#TopOfPage. Coming soon, information on opportunities throughout Georgia will be available.

    Jobs

    While there many different ways to obtain jobs in human resources one place where you can look is on the SHRM job board by logging onto http://jobs.shrm.org/c/search.cfm?site_id=1612.

    Information on Undergraduate and Graduate Programs

    To assist you in identifying academic programs in human resources please check out the following links:

    SHRM HR Programs Directory
    http://www.shrm.org/students/careers/CMS_019467.asp#P-4_0

    Petersons Guide to Graduate and Professional School
    www.petersons.com

    GradSchools.com
    www.graduate schools.com

    Student Chapter Information